Electric bicycles, or “eBikes”, have become an increasingly popular pastime for people of all ages, all around the world. Many cities offer electric bike rentals and electric bike tours, but if you want one for yourself, eBikes can be purchased at a local bike shop or sporting goods store, or through an online retailer.
Although they come with a hefty price tag, those who own or have ridden one are likely to testify to their value. But as fun as electric bikes may be, it is important to recognize that they are also motorized, which means they can pose serious injuries in the case of an accident. So, before you purchase or rent an electric bike in Indiana, it is encouraged to educate yourself on the local eBike laws.
Start by reviewing these frequently asked questions about Indiana electric bike laws, and what to do if you are seriously injured on one because of another’s negligence or eBike defect.
Electric Bicycle FAQS
What is an Electric Bike?
Here in Indiana, an electric bike is any bicycle that is assisted by an electric motor, 750w or less. There are 3 classifications of electric bicycles in our state, class I, class II, and class III electric bikes.
Class 1 electric bicycles come with a pedal-assist feature but are also equipped with a motor that switches off when the bicycle reaches 20 miles an hour.
Class II electric bicycles do not come with a pedal-assist. Instead, they are equipped with a motor that fully propels the bike but switches off when the bicycle achieves 20 miles an hour.
Class III electric bicycles have motors that only turn on when the rider peddles. The motor turns off when the rider stops peddling or if the bike achieves 28 miles an hour.
Does a Person Require a License or Permit to Operate Electric Bicycle?
In Indiana, there is no licensing or permit required to legally operate electric bicycle regardless of class. There are also no registration requirements if you choose to purchase an electric bicycle.
Does Indiana Set Any Restrictions on Motor Power or Throttle?
As mentioned, Indiana defines an electric bike as any bicycle that is assisted by an electric motor of 750w or less. For all electric bicycles, mopeds, and scooters, motor power and throttle must be below 750w.
Does Indiana Set Any Age Restrictions on Operating an eBike?
Here in Indiana, to legally operate a Class III electric bicycle you must be at least 15 years old. Anyone under the age of 15 is allowed to ride as a passenger, so long as the electric bicycle is designed to accommodate a passenger.
Does Indiana Have Any Helmet Laws Regarding eBikes?
Yes, anyone under the age of 18 years old is required by law to wear a helmet when riding on an electric-powered bicycle.
Can I Ride an Electric Bicycle on the Street in Indiana?
In Indiana, electric bicycles are legally permitted to be ridden on any street or roadway so long as there are not any signs restricting bicycle use in a particular area. The same regulation applies to trails and pathways in state and local parks.
Can I Recover Damages After Being Injured on an Electric Bicycle?
If you are injured while riding electric bicycle, it is important to seek medical attention right away and document all treatments and diagnoses. Obtain witness names and phone numbers and take photographs and always call the police so they can document the incident as well. Then contact an Indiana personal injury lawyer to learn your rights for pursuing legal action against a negligent bike rental company, a negligent driver or manufacturer. If your injuries were a result of an eBike manufacturing defect, negligent eBike tour guide, another eBike rider, or a car, you may be entitled to compensation for your medical expenses, hospital bills, lost wages, and more.
Were you wrongly injured on a bicycle in Indiana? Contact the Law Office of Craven, Hoover, and Blazek P.C. at 317-881-2700 to schedule a free case evaluation with an experienced Indianapolis personal injury lawyer. We represent clients throughout the State of Indiana.
You Should Also Read: